Jul 12, 2012

USU football: Utah State's Tyler Larsen named to 2012 Outland Trophy Watch List

Utah State Aggies center Tyler Larsen (58) celebrates getting a first down and running out the clock to beating Nevada in Logan Saturday, Nov. 26, 2011. Jeffrey D. Allred, Deseret News
By: Doug Hoffman
For: The Deseret News

Utah State junior center Tyler Larsen was tabbed to the 2012 Outland Trophy Watch List it was announced Thursday. The Outland Trophy is presented annually to the nation's most outstanding interior lineman by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA).

Larsen is one of two Western Athletic Conference players on the list, joined by Louisiana Tech center Stephen Warner. He is also one of three players from the state of Utah, joining Utah defensive tackle Star Lotulelei and BYU offensive guard Braden Hansen. Overall, Larsen is one of 71 players on the list, which is made up of 15 centers, 53 offensive players and 18 defensive tackles.

Larsen is also one of 51 centers named to the Rimington Trophy watch list it was announced earlier this week, which is presented annually to the Most Outstanding Center in NCAA Division I-A College Football. He was also named to Phil Steele's College Football Preview Magazine's Preseason all-WAC first-team.

A native of Salt Lake City (Jordan HS), Larsen enters his junior season with 25 consecutive starts at center. In 2011, Larsen was a first-team all-conference selection by not only the WAC, but by Phil Steele's College Football Magazine, as well as the BCS Busters and College Sports Madness. Larsen made all the blocking calls and assignments in helping clear the way for the 2011 USU offense that established school records for total offense (5,945 yards), rushing yards (3,675), total points (437) and total touchdowns (60). USU led the WAC and ranked sixth in FBS in rushing offense (282.7 ypg), along with ranking second in the WAC and 20th in FBS in total offense (457.3 ypg).

As a sophomore in 2011, Larsen led the offensive linemen with an 89 percent overall performance grade, including 80 percent in technique and 88 percent in effort. He also carried out the right assignment 98 percent of the time, including five games where he graded out at a perfect 100 percent. Larsen graded out above 90 percent six times in total performance, five times in effort and two times in technique, as well as all 13 games in assignment. He finished the season with 65.5 knockdowns, which included a season-high eight at defending national champion Auburn.

The Outland Trophy winner is chosen from three finalists who are part of the FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the entire membership, selects the 25-man team and eventually the three Outland finalists to be named on Nov. 19. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner.

The Outland Trophy, presented annually since 1946, is the third oldest award in major college football. The winner of the 67th Outland Trophy, named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Penn and Kansas at the turn of the century, will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Dec. 6 on ESPN.

The Outland Trophy presentation banquet, sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee, will be held on Jan. 10, 2013, in Omaha, Neb.

Utah State football season ticket renewals and new sales for the 2012 season are available. Renewals are available online 24 hours a day at aggies.com/">www.UtahStateAggies.com and clicking on the "buy/renew tickets" under the "tickets" drop down menu. Fans interested in new sales should contact the USU Ticket Office at the Dee Glen Smith Spectrum or by phone by calling 1-888-USTATE-1 or (435) 797-0305.

Fans can follow the Aggie football program at twitter.com/USUFootball or on the USU football blog at usufootball.wordpress.com. Aggie fans can also follow the Utah State athletic program at twitter.com/USUAthletics or on facebook at Utah State University Athletics.

The Football Writers Association of America The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 1,300 men and women who cover college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards and its annual All-America team.

The Outland Trophy The Outland Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients.

No comments:

Post a Comment

I would love your feedback. Please leave a comment!