Dec 9, 2013 | 2013 Finalists for the Rimington Trophy Announced

December 9, 2013 - December 9, 2013 – Finalists for the Rimington Trophy, presented to the most outstanding center in college football, are: 

Reese Dismukes (Auburn) 

Hroniss Grasu (Oregon) 

Gabe Ikard (Oklahoma) 

Tyler Larsen (Utah State) 

Bryan Stork (Florida State) 

Travis Swanson (Arkansas) 

The winner of the Rimington Trophy will be presented live during the ESPNU Red Carpet Show on Thursday, December 12, 2013, immediately preceding the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show. Both shows will originate from the Atlantic Dance Hall on Disney's Boardwalk at the Walt Disney World Resort in Lake Buena Vista, Fla. 

The winner of the Rimington Trophy is selected by determining the consensus All-American center pick from three existing All-America teams. 

While more than a dozen All-America teams are selected annually, the Rimington Trophy committee used these three prestigious teams to determine a winner: 

*Walter Camp Foundation (WCF) 
*Sporting News (SN) 
*Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) 

Because the selectors of these three All-America teams can place centers in a "mix" of offensive linemen that includes guards and tackles, their 11- man first teams can often have two centers. The Rimington Trophy committee's policy is to count all players that play primarily the center position for their respective teams as centers, even though they may be listed as guards or tackles on the four All- America teams. 

The center with the most first team votes will be determined the winner. If there is a tie with first team votes, then the center with the most second team votes will win. If there is still a tie, the winner will be determined by a majority vote from the Rimington Trophy committee. 

The winner will be recognized at the Rimington Trophy Presentation at the Rococo Theatre in Lincoln, Nebraska on Saturday, January 11, 2014. 

Original Content HERE

No comments:

Post a Comment

I would love your feedback. Please leave a comment!